September 19th, 2024

-shugo chara, ~or~ what it means to be yourself-

Happy September! The buses are trundling around town each morning, the leaves are starting to change,I, and the weather's getting cooler... or not? It's actually.. really hot where I am lately! I'm not a fan of the cold by any means but MAN am I excited for Halloween coming up! Aaanyway, I've been watching the iconic 2007 magical girl anime Shugo Chara lately! I just got to the end of the first "arc", and I have so many thoughts!

Where should I start..? Well, I guess with a bit of an intro! Shugo Chara is a 2007 anime adaptation of the hit manga by Peach-Pit, the same duo that made Rozen Maiden(another favorite aaa!). It's all about a fifth-grade girl, Hinamori Amu, whose tough and stubborn outward character betrays her true, more fragile personality. She feels disjointed from her family and, having just transferred to a new school, has no friends. One night, she prays for the courage to be her "would-be self, " and the next morning, wakes up to find three magical eggs in her bed. They hatch into cute, floating fairy chibi things called Shugo Chara(Guardian Characters), and they represent the person she wants to be. She later meets a group of kids that all have their own Shugo Chara, but here's the catch; they each have one, and she has three! The story follows Amu and her new friends as they try to find out who is distorting and destroying the "heart's eggs" of the children around them, developing new magical powers and all sorts of colorful characters along the way.

I want to talk about a particular aspect of the show that really gets me thinking.